In 2016, IGCS expanded its awards program to recognize the importance of the good work its members are doing to advance the field of gynecologic oncology worldwide. Award recipients are recognized at the IGCS Global Meeting.

 Lifetime Achievement Award

Formerly referred to as the Award for Excellence in Gynecologic Oncology, this award recognizes individual(s) who have performed an outstanding service and accomplishment spanning their career in gynecologic oncology. The goal is to recognize a life of excellence and service to gynecologic oncology

2016 Recipient

Ali Ayhan, MD  | Turkey

Excellence in Teaching Award

Recognizes individuals deeply committed and dedicated to the profession who exemplifies the core components of teaching and education.

2016 Recipient

Michael Bookman, MD  | USA

Global Humanitarian Award

Recognizes outstanding individuals, organizations or programs who work to improve access to quality gynecologic oncology services in low to middle income countries.

2016 Recipient

Lynette Denny, MD, PhD  | South Africa

Award for Community Advancement in Resource-Limited Settings

Acknowledges those improving their own communities with dedication to providing or facilitating advanced medical education and training in resource-limited settings to improve screening, prevention, and treatment of women affected by gynecologic cancer.

2016 Recipient

Kathleen Schmeler, MD | USA

View past winners of the IGCS Excellence Award

Information to nominate candidates for the 2018 IGCS awards will be posted here in the future.